Brief Hiatus

Hi guys,

Unfortunately, my game will not run any more. Since I installed Patch 1.34, my game has had memory leaks (caused by the patch, not my computer), so I get a crash to desktop after only about 20 minutes of playing. And I really don’t want to have to time myself and start my game over from scratch when it takes a while to load anyway.

Until I can get this problem fixed, I will not be able to play with the Derpingtons. I have already done a massive reinstall of all of my games, but since the patch auto-installs, this did not fix the problem. Even in the vanilla game, I get memory issues, despite the fact that my computer has 8 GB memory, which is overkill for this game.

I’m just very disgruntled and I really don’t feel like reinstalling all of my games AGAIN especially when I’m this irritated with everything.

I have two more chapters that are already finished, and I will get those out to you, but I honestly don’t know when I’ll be able to fix this problem.

Until then, I wish you all have happy simming. If you know of a fix pertaining to memory leaks with patch 1.34, let me know in the comments, or if you’re aware of a new patch having been released, that would be nice to know about as well.

I’m sorry that I’ve had to deliver this news to you. 😦

-Regina

EDIT (20/6/12):
I have confirmed without a doubt that it was patch 1.34 that screwed up my game. I installed the base game, ran it without patching it, and it ran fine. I then installed patch 1.34, and what do you know… it crashed 20 minutes after I started the game up, just like before.
I’m going to return to patch 1.33 if I can find the download online. I will not be updating to 1.34. Whenever the next patch comes out, I may give it a try, but this has really made me not want to patch my game again, ever.

About Reggie

I'm 23 years old, and an avid simmer and writer. I don't always have a lot of free time, as I'm currently out of school and trying to figure out what to do with my life, and I try to make time for my hobbies. I love science and science fiction, and one of my current projects is making junk journals. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Brief Hiatus

  1. TheOxymoron says:

    Oh no! This is even worse news than the death of Hesper. Hopefully this problem is fixed quickly,cause you’re the best sim blogger EVAR!! 😀

    • sim-oddity says:

      Okay, I’ll try to get the problem fixed. 😉 And like I said, I have two more updates worth of pictures, so even if the problem isn’t fixed immediately, I’ll still be able to put those up. 😛

  2. Thindra says:

    O.o Omgs that’s horrible. My sister had problems with the update but we fixed it by “reseting the town” using Twallans Mastercontroller in every save game and renaming the sims 3 folder in the my documents folder to “Pizza” starting up the game letting it create a clean fresh one then just moving over the mods (once updated of course), saved sims, and saved games, then reinstalling everything from the store.

    I know you can turn off auto-install, start the launcher and click on the “Game Updates” and click the box “Automatic updates” so the checkmark is gone. And the game won’t install updates unless you go under the tab, select the updates you want and click install.

    That’s all I can think of, hopefully that helps and you get it fixed soon.

    • sim-oddity says:

      Thank you for the advice. I tried making the new folder, no luck with that, but I will try turning off the auto updates so that it’ll stop doing that when I install the games again. :-/

      • Thindra says:

        ***WARNING WALL OF TEXT AHEAD***
        Sorry about this >.:/

        Hopefully its not something like your video card reacting weirdly or your RAM failing or something. My sister’s laptop started acting weird and it was the Sims that showed it first since it uses so much memory and stuff, and Staples had to replace her entire laptop because the motherboard failed within 2 months of her purchasing it.

        The next section is based as if I’m talking to my mom and sisters, who don’t know any of this stuff, and many people don’t either. Also it helps to clean up your computer after an install or uninstall of anything, make sure you don’t have anything running such as games, etc. if it takes awhile, just leave it running and come back. If you have a laptop, click your battery image then select more power options, change plan settings of your select plan, then underneath plugged in, change “Put the computer to sleep” to NEVER. and you won’t have to worry about your computer turning off while you leave it, you can turn it back afterwards if your wish.

        1) FIRST AND FOREMOST RUN YOUR ANTI-VIRUS, INTERNET SECURITY, ETC!!

        2) Second thing you should do is uninstall all programs games, etc you no longer play. Such as some of the shit that comes preinstalled on your computer when you first get it; such as Targent Games that requires tokens to play the demos. If unsure about something google the item, if you still don’t know about it leave it, because there are somethings listed under Programs that will completely Fuck your computer over if unistalled. Trust me I know. =P

        3) go to: my computer, right click Local Disk C: and click properties, which brings up the Local C properties. Click the Disk Cleanup which should be on the first tab that comes up.It will run, and if you’ve never done it before it will take a little bit of time. but eventually a window will pop up with check boxes asking you what you want to clean up, I usually select everything, but if your not sure about something google it or leave it unchecked then, before you click okay click the tab “more options” and click the “clean up” under system restore and shadow copies and it’ll get rid of all of your restore points but your most recent one. After which you can click okay and it will free up any where from a couple of KB (if you do it regularly) to a few GB (if you’ve never done it). It could take a few minutes to an hour, again depending on if you have done it before or not.

        4)After disk cleanup, go back to the Local Disk Properties Window that will still be open. Click the tools tab. Under the Defragmentation heading click “Defragment Now” A new window will open up. Under Schedule change it so it defragments at LEAST ONCE A WEEK!!! I have mine set to daily at 3pm. It will run in the background as long as your computer is on, so mine has a good chance of running once every two days. Then click on the C: drive then click defragment. It will take a while depending on the size of your harddrive. Mine is 750 GB so it takes at least 2 hours sometimes more, if it reads anything that is not (0% fragmented) under last run, run defragment until it comes back as 0. If mine reads (7+% fragmented) it takes at least 2 runs to get it to 0%. If you have more then one drive (not flash drives plugged in as they will show up too) run the defragment on all of them. I recommend only running defragment on one drive at a time. Once all show up at (0% fragmented) you can close it. Most people notice their computer runs slow once their computer is (5% fragmented)

        5) if you feel confident go download CCleaner recommended by Mod the Sims, you can get it for free from the official website. Once installed, run the program and under the “Cleaner” Tab select what you wish to clear. It will clear passwords, credit card numbers, bank cards, etc of FireFox and Internet Explorer, etc, letting you start with an almost new computer except your programs and files are still there, and it DOES NOT AFFECT YOUR SIMS 3 GAMES AT ALL!! If you decide to wipe your free space (it’s a good thing) it will overwrite your free space not anything else so if your computer ever gets stolen it will make it harder for hackers to bring up older information you had previously deleted.But Wiping your free space takes a long time, For me it takes about 3+ hours because I have 600GB free right now. On my computer that died on me, I went under Tools, Wiping and ran the wiping only 24 times on everything because I was recycling it and didn’t want that info (Credit Card info, passwords, banking info, etc) getting into the wrong hands, but that’s only something to do if your laptop dies or something.

        4b)After it is done cleaning click the “Registry” tab and select everything then click “Scan for Issues” it will look for random pieces of information that didn’t get uninstalled with programs that were installed with it but didn’t get uninstalled. like the .doc file information, but if you still have .doc files it won’t touch them. It takes about a minute to run and once done you can click “Fix Selected Issues” and it will ask if you wish to make a backup and it will create a file with a backup of this information incase you got rid of something you didn’t want to. Then you can either do the “Fix Issue” one by one, or click “Fix all Issues”. Run this at least 2 times. Because it will find more the second time if you’ve never run it before. After everything is done close CCleaner. You can check out the other stuff but its mostly just uninstalling programs and wiping your free space.

        6) Back under Local Drive (C:) under the tools tab (which you still should be on) under the error-checking heading click “Check Now…” a new window will pop up called “Check Disk Local Disk (C:)” check both boxes then click “Start” after a second a new box will pop up saying “Windows can’t check the disk while in use” click “Schedule disk check.” close all windows and programs running. Shut down your computer. Wait for it to completely shut down, then turn it back on. Depending on your computer restarting it will not start the Check Disk you have scheduled. Once your computer comes back on DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING! A black screen will come up after the windows logo I believe and say that “you have a disk check scheduled press any button to cancel.” DON’T TOUCH ANYTHING!! Let the countdown finish and your disk check will commence. There are 5 parts to it and it will look all 1980’s for you while running. Normally the first three run and finish within 15 minutes, part 4 takes about 20 mins to an hour depending on how much space you have used on your harddrive, part 5 takes the longest if you have more free space then used, but even if you don’t it tends to take longer then parts 1-4 combined. My sister’s laptop takes about 3 hours for the entire thing to run and she has 350GB of harddrive. Mine with 750GB takes about 5-6hours. I tend let it run when I go to bed and it’s all happy for me in the morning.

        After Disk Checking is done everything should be peachy keen and will run faster then it did before.

        This shouldn’t help with the patch problem, but it will help your computer run faster and better, but you never know maybe over the course of cleaning your laptop it found the problem and fixed it without knowing it. :3

        Best of luck to you!

      • sim-oddity says:

        I’ve almost certainly confirmed this is a patch problem. Somebody I know on Simblr has had the same exact problem with this patch. :/ Also, I’ve been playing Skyrim like a mad woman for the past 3 days and everything runs beautifully on the highest settings; and Skyrim is more graphics-intense than TS3. That’s why I feel fairly certain this is a problem with TS3, and not my computer. :S But if I start to notice anything wonky in general, I’ll give all that a go!

      • Thindra says:

        Oh and check and double check your mods are up to date, including furniture since Pets changed it for some reason and not everyone changed their furniture to reflect pets.

        CC magic – http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=461888 is a god send for sorting
        Custom Content. Luvs it!

        and The Sims 3 Patch Dowloader – http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=409829 will download any missing patches since EA only downloads the latest and not all of them, even though the latest patch doesn’t contain everything from the previous ones.

      • sim-oddity says:

        Definitely wasn’t the mods either, as I ran the game 100% CC free after installing and I still go the same problem. I only got the problem though after I installed Showtime and Sweet Treats, as I tested the game with up to Town Life and it ran perfectly fine, no problems at all. That’s why I’m pretty sure it’s the patch that is wonky.

  3. Thindra says:

    The only other thing I can think of then is to start harassing EA like crazy until they fix the problem.

    • sim-oddity says:

      Right now, I’m trying to install the games in a different order, by installing the base game first, then installing the patch, and THEN installing all my EPs and SPs. I just installed the base game again, ran it for about 45 minutes without a problem, and now, I’m downloading the patch. We’ll see if it crashes again…

      • Thindra says:

        That’s a good idea, at least then you can find the problem quicker that way.

      • sim-oddity says:

        It’s patch 1.33. I googled the problem, also talked with some people on Simblr, and it’s patch 1.33.
        I’m going to update the game up to 1.31, then I’m not updating it beyond that. Hopefully that’ll work.

      • Thindra says:

        That is so weird. It’s like 1.33 was running fine until 1.34 was installed and the two clashed horribly. But hopefully only updating to 1.31 will fix the problem.

      • sim-oddity says:

        Yeah, I’m hoping. I was having crashes with 1.33… but they were less noticeable. And then with 1.34 they went haywire. It was still crashing with 1.33 when I only had that installed though today.
        I uninstalled, and my game froze up about 30 minutes after starting, but I think that could be because my computer was getting pretty hot. I’ll try to turn it off and play tomorrow, see how long I can last without crashing. Hopefully this has fixed the problem, if not, I’ll bash my head against a wall and cry.

  4. Thindra says:

    Why can’t I reply?! WTF WordPress!

    hmmm…Make sure you defragment you computer, since installing and uninstalling will be leaving random bits of information around on your harddrive cluttering it up and making it harder for the CPU to read what it wants to. Defragmenting will sort the information so it can read it like a book instead of a bunch of random pages thrown in a pile. XD Gods, I’m tired.

    Try to take screenshots of the problems, if the window pop up and that way if you need to write a pissed off email to EA.

    I hate patch problems, I thankful nothing has been wrong with mine since I got my new laptop, my sister’s laptop did not like patch 1.34. Stupid EA always screwing up people’s games. lesigh.

    • Thindra says:

      “Try to take screenshots of the problems, if the window pop up and that way if you need to write a pissed off email to EA.” you can have the shots to prove your problems.

      Okay, now I’m not finishing my sentences… >.>

    • sim-oddity says:

      I’ve been following the guide on the sims wiki, and that’s helped me to clear off a lot of the registry files. I’ll probably defragment anyway though, it’ll be nice to speed the computer up a bit.

      • Thindra says:

        That’s what I was just going to suggest. That cleared up my last last patch problem that I had to reinstall the game. I can’t believe I forgot about that.

      • sim-oddity says:

        I defragmented, and since you said your sister had a problem with RAM and the sims was the first thing to show it, I tested out my computer’s memory. Nothing popped up there, so it must still be an issue with TS3. :-/ I’m very tempted to restore my computer to factory settings, but I don’t want to go through the problem of re-installing everything.

      • Thindra says:

        No you do not. That would completely suck if you had too.

Leave a Reply? Please, the Derpingtons are begging you.

